Showing posts with label News Conference. Show all posts
Showing posts with label News Conference. Show all posts

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Oh, Henry!

The Bitchslap



To put this in its full context, here is the full question (or questions) that CNN's Ed Henry asked when first called upon.

ED HENRY: Thank you, Mr. President. You spoke again at the top about your anger about AIG. You've been saying that for days now. But why is it that it seems Andrew Cuomo seems to be in New York getting more actual action on it? And when you and Secretary Geithner first learned about this 10 days, two weeks ago, you didn't go public immediately with that that outrage -- you waited a few days, and then you went public after you realized Secretary Geithner really had no legal avenue to stop it.

And more broadly -- I just want to follow up on Chip and Jake -- you've been very critical of President Bush doubling the national debt. And to be fair, it's not just Republicans hitting you -- Democrat Kent Conrad, as you know, said, "When I look at this budget, I see the debt doubling again." You keep saying that you've inherited a big fiscal mess. Do you worry, though, that your daughters -- not to mention the next President -- will be inheriting an even bigger fiscal mess if the spending goes out of control?
What about your daughters, Mr. President? What about the children?! WON'T SOMEONE TAKE CARE OF THE CHILDREN?!

OBAMA: Of course I do, Ed, which is why we're doing everything we can to reduce that deficit. Look, if this were easy, then we would have already had it done, and the budget would have been voted on and everybody could go home. This is hard. And the reason it's hard is because we've accumulated a structural deficit that's going to take a long time, and we're not going to be able to do it next year or the year after or three years form now. What we have to do is bend the curve on these deficit projections. And the best way for us to do that is to reduce health care costs. That's not just my opinion; that's the opinion of almost every single person who has looked at our long-term fiscal situation.

Now, how do we -- how are we going to reduce health care costs -- because the problem is not just in government-run programs; the problem is in the private sector, as well. It's experienced by families, it's experienced by businesses. And so what we've said is, look, let's invest in health information technologies; let's invest in preventive care; let's invest in mechanisms that look at who's doing a better job controlling costs while producing good quality outcomes in various states, and let's reimburse on the basis of improved quality, as opposed to simply how many procedures you're doing. Let's do a whole host of things, some of which cost money on the front end but offer the prospect of reducing costs on the back end.

Now, the alternative is to stand pat and to simply say we are just going to not invest in health care, we're not going to take on energy; we'll wait until the next time that gas gets to $4 a gallon; we will not improve our schools, and we'll allow China or India or other countries to lap our young people in terms of their performance; we will settle on lower growth rates; and we will continue to contract, both as an economy and our ability to provide a better life for our kids.

That I don't think is the better option. Now, have -- am I completely satisfied with all the work that needs to be done on deficits? No. That's why I convened a fiscal responsibility summit, started in this room, to start looking at entitlements and to start looking at the big drivers of costs over the long term. Not all of those are reflected in our budget, partly because the savings we anticipate would be coming in years outside of the 10-year budget cycle that we're talking about. Okay?
Now, you'd think that Henry would have let the AIG thing go, but he insisted on an answer to his "Where's the outrage?" question, as if we're to judge President Obama by emotional outbursts and fist shaking indignation, forgetting that the American people rejected that type of drivel in November when John McCain lost the election. But Henry needed to get is gotcha question answered, and he's the one who was got.

HENRY: On AIG, why did you wait -- why did you wait days to come out and express that outrage? It seems like the action is coming out of New York and the Attorney General's Office. It took you days to come public with Secretary Geithner and say, look, we're outraged. Why did it take so long?

OBAMA: It took us a couple of days because I like to know what I'm talking about before I speak, you know? (Laughter.)
BAM! I can still see the well deserved handprint on Ed Henry's face. And sadly, MSNBC's Chuck Todd's question was not much better.

CHUCK TODD: ...Why, given this new era of responsibility that you're asking for, why haven't you asked for something specific that the public should be sacrificing to participate in this economic recovery?
Seriously, Chuck? You are the Chief White House Correspondent for NBC News and asking what the American people should sacrifice is the best you can do? Are half a million job losses a month, record foreclosures, skyrocketing health care costs for insurance that probably won't cover you, sprouting tent cities across the country, and at the very least losing more than half of your retirement savings in what you thought was a semi-secure 401K not sacrifice enough? Todd must have been taking bets with Henry on who could ask the better "gotcha" question. Either that, or he's been victimized by the "Washington bubble" everyone talks so much about.

(H/T Gottalaff)

Monday, January 12, 2009

Well That Was Fast!

Obama Asks Bush For Bailout Funds

By 10am this morning, George W. Bush was ending his final news conference as President. One particular quote drew my attention.

The reporters got matter-of-factly down to business, asking during the 45 minute session whether he would make any move in his last week in office to request the second half of the $700 billion bailout from Congress, but he demurred, suggesting that it is most likely that the new Congress will deal with the new president on that matter.
“I don’t intend to make the request unless he specifically asks me to make it,” he said, speaking of President-elect Barack Obama.
By 11:28am, Dana Perino made this statement:
This morning, President-elect Obama asked President Bush to formally notify Congress, on his behalf, of his intent to exercise the authority under the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act to access the last tranche of $350 billion in funding for Treasury programs addressing the financial crisis. President Bush agreed to the President-elect’s request. We will continue our consultations with the President-elect’s transition team, and with Congress, on how best to proceed in accordance with the requirements of the statute.
Bang! And just like that, what to me (and I may be over analyzing it) sounded like a challenge to Barack Obama to take over the reins became a resounding answer from the incoming President to just do exactly that, and thank you for opening the door - Obama gets the ball rolling on the remaining $350 billion in TARP funds eight days early.

I haven't seen any press reaction to this yet. I'll turn on my TV now for see which pundits are calling this move "presumptuous."

Monday, January 5, 2009

Mob Museums and Water Slides

Mitch McConnell is such a fucking pussy. They've just come out of a meeting with Obama after discussing the economic stimulus package that PE Obama is proposing, and this fuck-o just said (paraphrasing),"As far as the spending portion of the economic stimulus package brought forward by President-elect Obama, we need to make sure it's not for mob museums and water slides." Can't these fucking assholes think for themselves just one time instead of looking at their right wing talking point crib notes?! Jesus Fucking Christ!

And now Whiskey Boy Boehner is slurring something about "Democrat colleagues." It's DEMOCRATIC, FUCKWAD. I'm all for trying to work in a bipartisan fashion, but if these motherfuckers don't start showing mutual respect to the other party, I'm gonna take a bat to someone's head.

Ugh, now cross-eyed Ron Christie is going to say something stupid. I can't even watch. Here it comes... earmarks. I'm waiting for him to say mob museums and water slides.

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Boot To The Head! Shoes Thrown At Bush During Iraq News Conference

I just caught this in passing but it looks like an Iraqi reporter went apeshit during a joint news conference in Iraq with George W. Bush and Nouri Al-Maliki and threw his shoes at the President. Both shoes misssed as Bush ducked. Video to follow as soon as I can find it.

UPDATE: Here's the link to the BBC video. No embedding yet.

So, I know that lame duck Georgie has been phoning it in for the last couple of months, but where the fuck was Secret Service? The guy got two shoes off! And the President? Impressively quick for a dry drunk.

UPDATE II: You gotta love Think Progress. Looks like Dana Perino took a shot in the eye from a microphone during the melee.



UPDATE III: Here's the Fox report. Better video, although I could've done without the last line of commentary. (The best quality video for viewing is the BBC link above.)




UPDATE IV (9:10pm):
George W. Bush regarding the shoe incident:

"So what if the guy threw his shoe at me?" Bush told a reporter in response to a question about the incident.

"Let me talk about the guy throwing his shoe. It's one way to gain attention. It's like going to a political rally and having people yell at you. It's like driving down the street and having people not gesturing with all five fingers.

It's a way for people to draw attention. I don't know what the guy's cause is. But one thing is for certain. He caused you to ask me a question about it. I didn't feel the least bit threatened by it."
It never occured to him that this guy might have just as easily thrown a knife or a grenade. I'm not so sure of the security of the Green Zone in Iraq, but if Secret Service agents couldn't stop this guy from throwning not one, but two shoes, I'm going to venture to guess that reporters entering the Green Zone are probably not as thoroughly screened as they should be. I'm going to assume that after they enter the borders of the zone, they're going to have a false sense of security and not be on their toes.

George W. Bush: Douchebag of epic proprotions.

Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Lame Dick pResident

Bush had a pretend press conference on the economy today... and tried to blame the Democratically led Congress for the administration's problems. Watch and be appalled.



And that's not all. According to Crooks and Liars, Raisinbrain got testy with Martha Raddatz for asking him a question relating to Afghanistan, not the economy. I guess he didn't have his propaganda notes for such questions.

Q: Can I just add to that, a couple weeks ago —

THE PRESIDENT: No, you can’t. This is the second follow-up. You usually get one follow-up, and I was nice enough to give you one. I didn’t give anybody on this side a follow-up, and now you are trying to take a second follow-up.

Q: Can I just say —

THE PRESIDENT: They just cut off your mic. You can’t, no.

What a dick.

Worst. President. Ever.

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

NY Governor Eliot Spitzer Resigns... (Updated With a Clinton Twist)

...and the ridicuousness of the whole day was the "news" coverage complete with a chopper following the Spitzer motorcade for a half hour through midtown Manhattan traffic.... at 3 miles per hour.

...Riveting. A white Bronco it was not.

Update: What is up with Hillary Clinton and her non-comment comment on Spitzer? Isn't this something she should be addressing considering the fact that they are, or at least used to be, political allies?

"I don't have any comment on that. Obviously I am sending my best wishes and thoughts to the governor and to his family."

You meant "soon to be former Governor," didn't you, Hillary? Whoops! There goes another superdelegate. First Spitzer fucks Hillary on the drivers license for illegal immigrants thing, then he fucks her by fucking around...not that she's unaccustomed to that situation.

Thursday, December 6, 2007

Hi, I'm George. Call Me...

...if I can remember my number...

Out of the kindness of li'l ol' Bushy's heart, he held a press conference today and gave out a number to call for help with mortgage relief from those predatory lenders called the "Hope Now Hotline". Those Republicans really know how to name things, don't they?

Only one problem. He gave out the wrong number.

Anyone who dialed 1-800-995-HOPE did not reach the mortgage hotline but instead contacted the Freedom Christian Academy — a Texas-based group that provides Christian education home schooling material.

And all that time, presidential advisors were keeping their fingers crossed backstage praying he'd spell "HOPE" correctly.

Thursday, October 18, 2007

World War III

Yes, Bush has hit a new low with his latest press conference. He used the term "World War III". And he said it with a smile on his face.


BUSH: "But this -- we got a leader in Iran who has announced that he wants to destroy Israel. So I've told people that if you're interested in avoiding World War III, it seems like you ought to be interested in preventing them from have the knowledge necessary to make a nuclear weapon."

He said this while smiling and chuckling.

My bewilderment turned into outrage. What the hell is so funny about this? Why is this diluted bastard giggling like a schoolgirl? I was going to write about it but Bob Cesca beat me to the punch.

CESCA: They're marketing Iran with more psychotic voracity than Michelle Malkin attacking an injured baby...
Is it any wonder why we occasionally succumb to outrage fatigue: that deflated, windless sense of numbing futility we feel when confronted with the illogical and the absurd? We've only begun to dig into the upper strata of lawlessness this regime has perpetrated over the last seven years. And now, in this desperate dying twilight of their existence -- now that they're gravely unpopular and on their way out the door -- reckless and without anything to lose -- why shouldn't they do all the crazy shit they've talked about? Bomb Tehran? Yeah, that'll be awesome and hilarious. More war means more war powers. If you thought the administration's war powers were crazy huge, just imagine their World War powers. Score!

...Just like so many powerful men, he appears to be able to switch off his conscience (if one exists in the first place). It's the same switch that allows him to say "we don't torture," or to smirk and laugh while discussing Iraq casualties and World War III. "Everyone else" won't include him because he'll always be safe. He'll always have Crawford and the twins; his fake accent and his delusional view of history; his nicknames and his eh-eh-eh laugh.

The rest of us -- unless we can find a way to stop this Iran drumbeat -- won't be laughing so much.

Thursday, February 15, 2007

Answer The Question!

It's amazing... why does George the Liar continue to have press conferences if he's not going to answer questions asked of him? He gives you nothing but the latest fear mongering in a desparate attempt to increase support for the failed war in Iraq, and now starts laying the foundation for Iran. How many times did he use the phrase "QUDS Force" in his conference yesterday?
And when asked, "What assurances can you give the American people that the intelligence this time will be accurate?" he avoids the question with the same rhetoric he began the conference with. This man is shameless.

I hope there are more journalists out there like Ed Henry who will continue to badger George the Liar. He will eventually blow a gasket and say something other than what he's scripted to say.

Click here for the
link and video on intelligence contradiction and accuracy question.


He was also asked questions regarding the Libby trial, which of course he wouldn't comment on.

That's a far cry from what he had to say on September 30th, 2003.
BUSH: "If there's a leak out of my Administration, I want to know who it is. And if that person has violated law, that person will be taken care of."


 
ShareThis